Tags

, , , ,

I was perusing Facebook earlier this morning, when I saw my friend Shelby (of A Mouthful of Moderation) post this article. Sometimes the internet just reaches out and slaps you in the face.

I felt like, if I needed the reminder, someone else might too. We don’t have to try so hard. What is is about women that makes us think we need a face full of make up, a perfect blow out, and a fresh mani/pedi to go out in public? Trust me, I’m guilty of it all. And if I’m being 100% honest with you (duh) I’m getting my hair blown out today AND I was thinking about getting my nails done. But the question is WHY?! And not only why, but how did I get to a place where I feel better about myself when I look in a mirror and see those things?

No amount of make up is going to make me, you, or anyone a better person. No amount of perfect hair is going to make people like us more. And really, no amount of running and/or yoga is going to give me a thigh gap worthy of quitting chocolate chip cookies. WHAT IS LIFE WITH OUT COOKIES PEOPLE!?

Am I throwing out my make up? No. Am I never again putting on mascara or lipstick? Hell no. But on those days when I look in the mirror and really only see the flaws, only see the imperfect skin tone, or the dark under eye circles, or the inevitable blemish? On those days I’m going to cut myself a little slack.

Happy Friday Friends…..

XO

 

 

