Tags

, , ,

I honestly don’t know if we blame the ever popular Mad Men for this, or if it’s just a result of the circular nature of fashion, but full, ladylike skirts are everywhere right now! Please don’t misunderstand me, I love the full circle midi skirts. I mean a skirt that’s designed to hit the narrowest part of your body, and is really fun to twirl around in? What’s not to like about that?!

And the styling can go in so many different directions. You want to maintain that classic/retro vibe? Pair it with a t-shirt or a cami tucked in. Looking for something more modern? A crop top. I feel like this skirt style reiterates why a classic is a classic. In my opinion, Blair of Atlantic-Pacific gets it right every time.

Atlantic-Pacific

Via Atlantic-Pacific

It might just be me, but these images make want to 1. have a closet full of these skirts 2. get over the idea that they need a special occasion 3. possibly break out into a group musical number from and pretend to be Vera Ellen.  So in an effort to start a collection (and hopefully help you start yours) I’ve picked a few that might fit into your (our?) closets.

Luck-be-a-lady

Navy Skirt/Emerald Skirt/Floral Skirt/Black Skirt/Black Skirt

1. Super similar to one from Tibi a few months back, but this navy number has that added level of sheer dimension. Easy with a cream cami, or a grey graphic tee.

2. The emerald color here is a total stand out. It would be beautiful in the spring with a fuschia top. I love how the satin looks so formal but is just waiting to be dressed down.

3. There is admittedly nothing basic about this, and that’s probably why I love it even more. The pattern, the colors, it all just comes together and screams fun. I would love to see it paired with a black cami and classic pointed toe pumps. Who am I kidding here, I’m totally ordering that skirt and wearing it that way. You’ll probably see it here….or on Instagram.

4. In my mind this is the be all end all of the full midi ball skirt. The basic black from Tibi. Sure it’s expensive, but I feel like even when these skirts aren’t “on trend” anymore this would still have a place in your closet.

5. If you want to keep it basic, but less budget busting than the one above, this pleated black number is your pick. You really can’t go wrong with basic black sometimes. Or ever.

Do you own a lady like skirt? If you do (or even if you did) how would you style it?

XO

