Tags

, , , , ,

The Beauty of Basics- Photo by Recon 2 Photography

Basics are basics for a reason. They aren’t always fancy, but they aren’t supposed to be. They are supposed to be the building blocks for the fun outfits, the staples you reach for over and over again. And sometimes you don’t need to over think what you’re putting on, and a few basics are all it takes. Like the day you reach for that perfectly broken in black v-neck tee, and your favorite jeans.

Navy blue tank dress, turquoise necklace, denim jacket

Dress c/o Ross Dress For Less (similar in white)/ Denim Jacket (similar)/
Heels (similar)/Sunglasses (similar)/ Necklace (similar)

This outfit is entirely made up of basics. A simple blue (incredibly comfortable) sundress. A perfectly destroyed light denim jacket. Spring time pops of color with accessories. These are all pieces I reach for independently, so I decided “why not just put it all together and see what happens.” It was comfortable, casual, a combination I know I’ll be reaching for over and over again this spring. I grabbed this dress a few weeks ago when I went “urban treasure hunting” aka combing the racks at the new Ross Dress For Less store. I tried it on and knew immediately that it was going home with me. And I actually scored this denim jacket on Poshmark for a steal! Sunglasses I’ve had forever, a necklace I live in through the spring and summer (you’ll see it again I’m sure), and a pair of chunky heels I grabbed end of season, mean this outfit made up of basics has been just waiting for this dress to make it all come together.

The Beauty of BasicsAnd just in case you were wondering if there are random pop up yard/junk sales in parks in Baltimore? The answer is yes. And they have really awesome stuff, like antique fans, cool mirrors, and rusty old metal pieces that I have no idea what I’d do with but that look really cool.  I think I’m going to have to go back and see if this is a regular thing.

Keeping it simple for spring: tank dress, heels, and a denim jacket The Beauty of Basics. Photo by Recon 2 Photography

So now that I have a new go to spring outfit (and a new place to find crazy cool trinkets), what are your go to basics?

XO

 

Photos by Nick Eid

 

