Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

You can blame the economy, you can even blame Macklamore, who ever you choose to blame it’s obvious that thrift and consignment stores are all trendy. And really, it’s not hard to understand why. I mean come on, having “$20 in your pocket” sounds really catchy, but it’s also a thrill to know that that amount of money can get you something really great, and usually more than one “something.” It’s the perfect way for any girl on a budget to refresh her wardrobe with quality items, and not break the bank.

It’s no secret that I’m an avid user of Poshmark (My closet is @KWeber.) When I started using the app, I was doing it to clean out my closet. I decided it would be an easy way to make some extra money (I was totally right.) But, then I realized I could find some awesome items on there as well. I grabbed up a pair of vegan leather shorts by Free People for something like $30, and I was hooked. Quality brand, good price, in premo condition. What wasn’t to love!?

22511885_001_a

via

When I decided to make these cut offs, I headed straight to the thrift store for jeans. I grabbed a pair of Abercrombie jeans, and while I was looking through the rack to find exactly what I wanted for my project, I found one of my favorite thrift finds to date: Seven For All Mankind Skinny jeans.

4015_worn_blue_black_l_z

via

They were black. They were my size. They came home. A few weeks later and found a Lululemon jacket. To top it off, I dropped a handful of items to my local Plato’s Closet consignment store on the way home, and decided to look around as they examined my items. Hudson Jeans, Madewell colored skinnys (with a super cute zip ankle), and an Elizabeth and James buttondown. Not bad for $50.00.

Every trip doesn’t end in success. I’ve frequently walked out empty handed. I don’t have a lot of tips to offer but here’s what I do have:

1. Don’t discount the Thrift and Consignment stores. We all like to save a few bucks, and if you go in with the same mindset you walk into Marshall’s or TJMaxx with, you’ll be in a better position to find some hidden gems.

2. Check out the entire item. Try it on yes, but also examine hems, check the stitching inside pockets, look at the whole piece. If it’s something you need to have hemmed or taken in, consider that cost on top of the item, and then decide if it’s still worth it.

3. Dry Clean. I’ll admit, the “ewww” factor is still present when I’m thrift/consignment shopping. Enter Zips Dry Cleaners. For $2.00 an item, I feel like I have something fresh, and clean and free of that thrift store smell.

4. Don’t neglect areas that are not “Yours.” I don’t leave the thrift or consignment store with out checking out the Men’s section, sometimes even the boys section. I know I can wear a perfectly broken in Men’s tee in a small, or a boy’s XL. I also check out the smaller men’s button downs, and belts.

5. Accessories make an outfit. Buy shoes, don’t buy shoes, that’s your own decision. I do however check out purses, scarves, and jewelry with regularity. I’ve gotten some great rings, and necklaces at the thrift store, stuff that is on heavy rotation.

So tell me, do thrift/consignment shop? Where are your go to stores, and what are some of your favorite finds? Also, if you’re on Poshmark, find me so we can be friends!

