Tags

, , ,

Apparently Wedding season has no end. I’ve gotten two request for wedding outfits this weekend alone, and I couldn’t be more excited. Weddings can be such a challenge to get dressed for, especially this time of year in the Baltimore/DC area. This was the first wedding I created an options for.

The wedding is taking place in about two weeks, just outside the DC area. The weather could be Indian Summer, or it could be a crisp fall evening. I was asked to create options on a budget close to $100, with the dresses (the center point of any wedding ensemble) being under $50.

Wedding-looks-for-Casey

I was asked to find a dress in the pink or blue family, but I wanted to be sure that the options I found weren’t too summery. I picked items that I thought could be paired with black to ground them as opposed to the summer staple of blush or nude. I knew I needed to keep a fun, youthful aesthetic, while still being appropriate for a wedding.

Sweet, with a little edge: The base of this outfit is the coral lace dress. It was important when working with this color to let it be the statement, and ground it with black. I didn’t want it to be too heavy, so I picked shoes that had cut outs, and added a chunky pearl necklace to up the lady like factor. This black blazer also has a great metallic cuff, which I love.

Party in the back: This dress hit just the right youthful, but sophisticated note, with the big bow in the back. A simple gold and black station necklace dressed up the front, and these black wedges are going to be perfect this fall with dresses, shorts, or even wide leg jeans for that 70’s/Rachel Zoe look.

Lady Like Glam: This was the wild card outfit that I added, something to a little outside the wearers comfort zone. I saw this dress, and the colors were perfect. With my favorite metallic shoe, and some simple drop earrings in bold colors, this is definitely a wedding outfit. I knew it could also be accessorized with a black blazer, or moto jacket if it was a cool evening.

All three ensembles (and the prices shown) include this clutch, a perfect size to carry your phone, some touch up make up, etc. that you need as a guest for a wedding.

When working to create an outfit on a budget, it’s important to be mindful of what you HAVE to buy. Here, the dresses are all the statement pieces, and could easily be dressed up with items already in your closet. Think about subbing in those metallic wedges, or chunky bracelet you already have before buying something new.

I can’t wait to see pictures to see which outfit she picks. Cheers to all these fall weddings! And if you have a style challenge, shoot me an email (katie@charmingcitystyle.com) I’m happy to help!

XO

