Tags

, , , ,

Something about the start of a new school year always leaves an ache  in my heart for a whole crop of new clothes. I think we all remember begging to wear those new fall clothes on the first day of school, only to be reminded that it is still August, and you would, in fact, sweat to near death upon wearing them on the first day.

Sadly, I’m no longer in the position of “going back to school.”  I do actually have a traditional job that requires me to work 12 months out of the year. (They also do not believe in recess. Or nap time. Being an adult can be so over rated.) But this doesn’t mean I can’t revamp my closet for fall in a perfectly professional way, while still incorporating some of those back to school stand by’s.

Back-To-School--The-Work-Ed

Bag/Dress/Jacket/Plaid/Shoes/Denim

The Bag: What would a “new school year” be with out a new bag? This tote is perfect for carrying everyday, especially to work. It looks sleek and professional but is still stylish. I also love this, and this.

The Dress: The sheath dress has been popping up everywhere for fall. I love that this option has visual interest with the lace. I also love that it’s in a neutral that isn’t black. This comes in great colors too.

The Jacket: Leather jackets are incredibly trendy this fall, and while I love a good moto jacket, they aren’t always office appropriate. The drape collar on this one would look fantastic paired with a basic tank, and pencil skirt, and would equally as good over a sheath.

The Plaid: Is it fall with out plaid? I think not. This shirt (last seen here) is a classic plaid and while it may be a men’s shirt, but I totally love it. Tucked into a black pencil skirt, and accessorized with a necklace like this for the office. Pair it with some skinny jeans and oxfords, and head to brunch on Sunday. I also love this and this.

The Shoes: Another fall trend this year is the bootie. And if you pick the right par they can easily transition to work. This pair could easily go with a dress, ankle length pants. I think they would look perfect with this.

The Denim: You knew we couldn’t make it through a whole Back to School anything with out mentioning denim. Sure jeans aren’t really office appropriate, but that doesn’t mean your go to chambray shirt isn’t. This one is especially good for work because it’s basic. With trousers, skinny pants, A-line or pencil skirts, and the printed pants that are so popular right now. Available at so many price points, you can’t go wrong.

Are you “back to school” shopping? What’s on your shopping list for the work portion of your wardrobe?

XO

