I’m happy to be back to our standard “I love it! Now what?” post with this follow up to last weeks Wedding Week. So here’s a snip-it of the email I received:

Here are 2 pics of the dress I’m planning to wear to my cousin’s wedding. In the one taken from the back I stretched out the dress so you could see the straps. …OK, so how would you accessorize??? I feel like I really want to bring in color since it’s summer-time. Need some ideas for shoes, jewelry, clutch….and on a budget! 🙂

I love this. It’s a problem I feel like we all have. We want to rework a look we already have, but in a new way, and with out spending a ton of money.

Here’s a look at the dress

Dress-Back

This is a great LBD. It has a fantastic neckline, and that amazing criss crossed back. It’s also a great fit and flare shape which means that even on the hottest day/night it’s not going to stick to you. Plus, it means you can eat (and drink) and enjoy a wedding with out having to suck it in the whole night. Win!

I was told the following about the wedding to assist with the styling:

  • Philly
  • Catholic church
  • Reception at a private country club type location
  • Saturday evening
So here’s what I came up with, to fancy up and add a little summer to an LBD
For-Tina
I obviously picked a coral color after being asked to bring some “summer” feeling into the look. Nothing to me says summer more than coral and pinks. This statement necklace is going to play so well off of the v-neckline of the dress. The pink studs add more color (and match the center pendant of the necklace) with out competing for attention. These ankle wrap shoes from Target were an obvious choice. They seem perfect for just about anything. I added bangles for a little extra shine and there you have it!
The one accessory I didn’t include was something I think will be necessary for both the church and possibly the evening reception. A wide pashmina style scarf would be perfect to cover your shoulders indoors if it’s a little chilly (those churches can crank the AC) or if you just feel like you should cover up a bit more. A pink or coral one here would be perfect and they can usually be picked up for about $10.
All in all I think these accessories added color, some summer flair and really dressed up a basic black dress for a summer wedding. Not to mention, they can all be easily integrated into regular wear as well. I think that necklace is screaming for a chambray shirt, white jeans, and a summer cocktail. Speaking of summer cocktails….
XO
