Tags

, , , , , ,

One of my favorite things to do is support all things local. Going out to eat? I’ll pick the local place over the chain every time. Drinking? Locally owned watering holes. Shopping? I’ll go to a local boutique before the mall. It’s not just about supporting your neighbors, it’s about getting products that are more unique. If you’re like me, you are in luck! There’s this amazing event called RAW Baltimore that’s happening every month. RAW brings together “Art. Fashion. Music. Film. Photography. Hair. Make up. Performance. Accessories.” You can learn more about RAW here.

I was lucky enough to attend RAW in June, and it was such a treat. There was a ton of fashion, which was immediately evident when you walked up to the venue (the gorgeous Tatu, in Power Plant Live) to see GoGo’s Retread Threads bus parked outside. Full of beautiful vintage fashions and accessories, it is a totally fun, totally unique shopping experience. Also, Stacey is pretty much one of the most fun ladies ever. I mean, she has a rolling vintage store in school bus for crying out loud! How can you NOT want to go in!

Go Go's Retread Threads

Retread Threads

There was tons of fabulous jewelry too. Being a girl that believes bigger is better, and something shiny makes every outfit better, I was particularly fond of Rachel Mulherin and her necklaces. These statement necklaces are the kind of pieces I’m sure I’d be reaching for almost every day. And how cute was her set up? I love that flower curtain!

Rachel M. Jewelry

There was also Fiorella Jewelry, which was right up my alley. These insane necklaces and cuffs (I kind of freaked out a little when I saw them) are vintage pieces of jewelry that have been put together into wearable art.

9029171835_81ddfdd7ab_b

As I was walking around, I couldn’t help but notice the colorful, graphic work of Randi Tannenbaum. Her belt buckles first grabbed my eye because they are obviously made of recycled license plates! She also does really creative jewelry, including some beautiful leather cuff bracelets.

Randi Tannenbaum

I really tried not to pick favorites at RAW, but I would bye lying if I didn’t find something I’ve been thinking about ever since. Enter Queen B. I have always been a sucker for a purse, so these insane clutches were almost too much for me to handle.

Queen B 2

Yes, those eyes on blue are painted on a clutch. Beth literally gives you art that you can carry with these bags. She paints canvas, lines it with a vintage scarf,and on many bags includes creative embellishments such as vintage brooch, or belt, or piece of a guitar.

Queen B

The clutch pictured above is actually an amazing octopus, and the top is textured to feel like the underside of a tentacle.  The creativity amazes me. You should follow along with Queen B on Facebook, because a new website with 3 lines of clutches is launching in July. Personally, I can’t wait.

If fashion is not your thing, you can still have a blast supporting independant artists in the mediums of photography, pottery, painting, and performance. Because I honestly couldn’t talk about this event with out mentioning this girl….

9029310629_49274f6f2b_z

That’s Sarah Stepanik. She performed violin while belly dancing. I can’t do either one of those things. Much less consider how she managed to do them together. It was quite impressive.

If you would like to attend the next RAW event, come out to Tatu on July 11th for RAW Elevation. Tickets are available here, and the event runs from 8:00 pm-12:00 am.
Hope to see you there!

XO

**Thanks to the RAW Baltimore team for the photos**

