Summer-Style-Graphic

Today we’re back with the second installment of the Summer Style series, and we’re talking about shorts. Any girl who’s spent even a weekend (or really… a day?) on the east coast in the summer knows that shorts are a necessity.

I will be honest and tell you that for the longest time I was against the resurgence of jean shorts. I caved last summer and purchased a pair by William Rast on Rue La La (These are similiar). I found myself wearing them all the time, and obviously had to eat my words about how “jorts” were a serious fashion crime. This post was motivated by seeing this amazing pair of denim shorts on Natalie’s adorable blog.

rgjea4030248512_q1_1-0_336x596

Via ShopBop

But let us not forget that there are shorts beyond denim. I have long been a lover of the J.Crew 3″ Chino shorts. They are comfortable, flattering, and the 3″ inseam is pretty much spot on for my 5’3″ frame. Added bonus? They also come in 4″, and 5″ inseams, and can be found at J.Crew Factory outlet (which is actually where I’ve gotten most of mine.)

01745_WD8284_m

Via J.Crew

So naturally I had to find some amazing short options to share with you…

Shorts

(Clockwise from the title)

1. This pair of printed shorts from Old Navy are similar to the J.Crew pair listed above. They have a 3.5″ inseam, and they are currently on sale. Win! I think they would be adorable with a chambray shirt, or even just a simple white t-shirt.

2. Also from Old Navy, this pair of rolled cuff boyfriend shorts is really similar to the ones I got last year. This is a great option if you are unsure of the “cut off” look, and they come in a couple of wash options.

3. The J.Crew Factory 3″ Chinos really are some of my favorites. This is a great cobalt color would be perfect with pinks, corals, or even a pop of yellow. These shorts also come in a ton of colors, and for $29.50, you can grab up a couple pairs.

4. I’ve been on the hunt for a pair of denim cut-offs since I saw those Rag and Bone shorts above. These from Gap are serious contenders. I love the dark wash, and subtle fray. I also love these.

5. Blank NYC denim is awesome, and these denim shorts are no exception. They have a ton of stretch, so they are really comfortable. I tried these on at Brightside Boutique, and I’m pretty sure I’m going back to grab them up.

So it’s obvious that I’m a fan of shorts for summer. What are your favorite styles, and more importantly, where do you get them?

XO

