Tags

, , , , , , , ,

HELLO FRIENDS! I can’t begin to tell you how much I have missed this for the last 3 weeks! I didn’t mean to disappear, but sometimes work just needs all of your attention. Not to worry, I’m back now and I couldn’t be happier. So let’s just jump right into this fun week-long series I’ve decided to do, called Summer Style.

Summer-Style-Graphic

Summer is by far my favorite season. Beyond toes in the sand (those are my happy, sandy toes above!) I love the colors, and light breezy fabrics. I love the prints, and the fact that sun kissed skin just seems to make everything better. First on the list for summer style is a personal favorite of mine: The Maxi Dress! Why a maxi? Well I have a few reasons that this is a favorite.

1. It’s easy.
Please notice I said “Easy” not “Lazy.”  When the temperature rises, having simple outfits is critical. The perfect Maxi can do that. It goes with sandals or wedges, and can easily be made more interesting with accessories. Added bonus? It’s super easy to pack for a get away, which we all know, is what summer is made for.

2. It’s comfortable.
I firmly believe that there is nothing more UN comfortable than putting jeans on skin that is slightly damp (be it steam or sweat) and having them stick to you. A close second to that is putting on anything that is tight/heavy/constricting/not breezy cotton when you have even the slightest sun burn (*Side note here- I’m totally guilty of it too, but can we all just agree to really wear sunscreen this summer? Like, for real? and re-apply? I want pretty, unwrinkled skin for as long as I can have it, with the added bonus of not getting skin cancer.**)

I prefer my maxi dresses to be long. Like, border line too long. Mainly because I like to wear heels. But I recently purchased this one at Velvet Pearl (where you should totally stop on your way to Ocean City this summer. The store is amazing, and while it’s in Salisbury, it’s just a short detour off Rt. 50) with the intention of wearing it every day with flat sandals.

EIGH-WD237_V3

Via Revolve Clothing

A few years back I purchased what is probably my favorite dress of all time. It’s by a brand called Eight Sixty, and I picked it up at South Moon Under in Baltimore’s Harbor East. This is the newest incarnation, and I can promise you it’s worth every penny. It is so flattering, with a full skirt, and adjustable straps. I’ve seen this one at South Moon Under in Towson this year, so be sure to check it out if you’re local to Charm City.

I also love this simple maxi…

417bX3mDIdL._SX470_Via Alternative Apparel

This dress definitely wins out for simplicity, which leaves so many options for how and where to wear it. Add some bangles, a statement necklace, and wedges, and you are ready for date night. Some simple sandals, and big earrings, and you can do brunch with the girls. The versatility here makes it ideal to pack for a long weekend out of town. I’ve tried this on a Brightside Boutique and Art Studio and what makes it even more perfect is that it can easily be cut to the proper length (can I get an Amen from the short girls?) The next time you are in Federal Hill, you should stop in and see if they are still available.

Here’s a few other favorites:
Maxi-Dressesv(Clockwise from the title)
1. This strapless dress from Gap uses bright colors and bold stripes to add interest to a simple cut. Bonus? It can be worn 4 ways, including as a maxi skirt. I also like this one,  which comes in solid colors.

2. This is a cheaper alternative to the racer back dress I shared above, although with a defined waist, and more drape to the skirt. I love the slight v-neck too.

3. I couldn’t talk maxi dresses with out including something slightly boho. The floral print on this dress is  bright and fun, and the back is so cute! I also loved this one.

4. This pink dress from Old Navy has an amazing cross front top. I also love the defined waist, perfect if you choose to add a bold belt.

Any of the above options would be great to add to your summer wardrobe. And if you haven’t tried them already, I highly recommend grabbing a maxi dress. You will probably find yourself reaching for it all summer! If you have a favorite dress, or place to shop for them, I’d love to hear about it in the comments!

XO

