1

Via Danielle-Nicole

I’ve seen these bags popping up around the blogosphere recently, so when I first saw this event invite posted by Downtown Diane, I was intrigued. I mean, it’s a Thursday, Happy Hour, shopping event that features handbags. What’s not to love about that? Well, there’s more to love actually. I did a little digging online shopping research and found out how amazing the Danielle Nicole brand is. These bags were amazing, and at a price point that isn’t off the charts. Better still? Danielle is a Maryland girl! I needed to find out more.

Danielle-Nicole-1

Via Danielle-Nicole

Today, I’m thrilled to share with you our conversation. When we talked, I wanted to find out more about where her inspiration comes from, how her groups are named, and her favorite places to shop.

I began by asking what brought her to handbags over clothing or shoes. I felt like I was talking to an old friend when she said that she had always been drawn to accessories and handbags. She shared how she feels that clothing can be simple, and with the addition of the right handbag and accessories can really be taken to the next level.

The newest group, the Diane Collection, was named after Danielle’s longtime friend (Baltimore locals will know her as Downtown Diane.) When I asked where the inspiration for her groups comes from, her reply was simple “the people who have impacted my life. And travel.” Noting a recent trip to Paris which brought inspiration, but also mentioned using the name of a street in London or even the street she grew up on, when naming her groups. And head up, there’s more Baltimore local love coming in the holiday collection as well so stay tuned!

It’s hard to think of a designers job as anything but glamorous, but there is hard work for sure. What’s the use in hard work if you don’t get some reward though. Danielle says the most rewarding part of her job is seeing a woman on the street, on the subway, in the airport, on the beach, wearing one of her designs, and “knowing that she feels beautiful.” So, which bag of her current collection is her favorite? She easily chose the Diane Satchel, for it’s practical functionality that can easily be dressed up or dressed down. It’s a cross body for running around during the day, and easily “takes your look to the next level” by switching to the satchel for drinks with girlfriends..

I couldn’t help but ask just a few questions posed to the Baltimore StyleMakers:
If you could only shop in one store, where would it be?
Bergdorf-Goodman
Closet item you can’t live with out?
Nude pumps. They are classic and timeless.
Who is your personal style inspiration?
Domenica Paradisi (Personal Stylist at Bergdorf Goodman) and Kate Middleton.

photo (10)

via Danielle-Nicole

Talking to Danielle was such a thrill! She seems like the kind of person you want to meet for a glass of wine after work on a Tuesday to catch up. I love that her bags fit to so closely to what it seems is her personal style: classic with a twist. I can’t quite decide which is my favorite, but this, this, and this are on the list for sure.

And lucky for all of us, she’s in town on Thursday May 9th! You can join Danielle as she introduces the Diane Collection at About Faces Day Spa at the Shops at Kenilworth in Towson, from 5-9PM. Address here.

Hope to see you there!
XO

