Tags

, ,

Can we just talk for a second about how the Met Gala might be one of the best red carpets…well, ever? I feel like it was taken to a new level this year because the event celebrated the opening of PUNK: from Chaos to Couture, and things took a darker, edgier look than usual. And while everyone kept it red carpet appropriate there was some definite punk inspiration.

So, I’ve pulled some of my favorites…

metgala-getty-katie-holmes-168187782_193109384923.jpg_carousel_partiesVia Vogue

When I saw Katie Holmes, I was instantly in love. The dress is simple and beautiful (and Calvin Klein) with that insane train. And the contrast with the hair, makeup, and a peak of side-boob? I’d say she brought some punk.

met-gala-jt-8-red-carpet-3194_205057774633.jpg_carousel_parties

Via Vogue

In stark contrast to Katie Holmes white gown, Kristin Stewart wore this deep red Stella McCartney pants suit. It’s definitely got some punk edge, and is still sexy.

met-gala-anne-hathaway-h724 (1)

Via Glamour

Wait, WHAT?! Anne Hathaway? Who knew she could look so… punk? I mean, the dress is insane, with that peak-a-boo side boob, and feathered cuffs. But did you notice her hair?! I think I kind of love it. Let’s see how she wears her make up on a Tuesday, going to the grocery store before we totally decide, shall we?

met-gala-blake-lively-h724

Via Glamour

I basically love Blake Lively, and feel like she could do no wrong. She could walk the red carpet in a paper bag and look amazing. But she didn’t.  No, she showed up looking like that. And it’s Gucci. Some girls have all the luck…

It wouldn’t be a red carpet with out a couple of decisions that, well, weren’t my favorite.

met-gala-miley-cyrus-h724

Via Glamour

Oh, Miley. You may have gotten the punk note right, but this just isn’t my favorite look on you. Or anyone really.

met-gala-katy-perry-h724

Via Glamour

It’s not that this isn’t good. I mean, it’s Dolce & Gabanna fall runway. But I just don’t think this is her most flattering look. Costume-y? yes. But I still think it misses the mark.

Ok, so here’s the interactive part of this post. I am a sucker for the both of the Olsen twins and their fashion choices. Seeing what they wear to the Met Gala is always exciting. And then there’s Sarah Jessica Parker. I have always loved her, from Hocus Pocus (this!) to SATC, and I love that’s she’s never afraid to take a risk.

7715a9f66f712dd9_olsencollage.preview

Via Pop Sugar

met-gala-sarah-jessica-parker-h724

Via Glamour

So, do you think of the Olsen twins, and SJP? I’m still undecided, but I will say I love that mohawk head piece.

OH! And I couldn’t close this post out with out sharing that Madonna wore this…

met-gala-madonna-h724

Via Glamour

Yup. Madonna wore that. Hey, she’s Madonna. What did you think she was going to wear?

Who were your favorites? Share in the comments below!
XO

