Happy Friday everyone! I’m excited to share a new “I love it! Now what?” with you today. I recently got an email asking for advice with a blazer. A portion of the message read “I bought this blazer at H&M in November and I like it a lot, but it’s not a typical blazer so I don’t know how or when to wear it. Any suggestions?” Umm… yes.

This is the blazer:
downloadI think the jacket is awesome. It has something a little special, somewhat unexpected. I love the slight peplum and the off centered gather on the side. Unfortunately, what makes the jacket great (and probably what prompted it’s purchase) is also what makes it a little harder to style.

Here’s what I came up with:

For a Peplum Blazer

So I chose to style the jacket for work, but in a way that it can easily transition to dinner or drinks out afterwards. The pants are a fun, modern pattern, with more muted colors. I think they are good for someone who might be afraid of the printed pants trend. Or you could easily switch to the bright skirt instead. I added a simple white tee under the jacket so the shape and the pants really steal the show. The ankle wrap heels in black and white are really on trend for spring, and add just a touch of sex appeal, while the necklace makes a statement with out taking over.

I’m also pretty sure I’m now in the market for something with a peplum shape. This might be on the shopping list for spring.
Is there something in your closet you love, but aren’t quite sure how to wear? Email katie@charmingcitystyle.com!
Cheers to the weekend!
XO
